District 58 promotes eighth graders to high school

Downers Grove Grade School District 58 celebrated Herrick and O'Neill eighth graders as they were promoted to high school on Tuesday, June 7 at Downers Grove North.

The O’Neill Promotion Ceremony occurred at 5 p.m. The promotion included the Pledge of Allegiance by O’Neill Student Council Vice President Kasey Ganger, and a promotion speech, titled "Challenges for Change," by O’Neill Student Council President Taylor Ciucci.

Superintendent Dr. Kevin Russell presented the Pride of O'Neill Award to Jaida Alexander and Ethan Traugott. Ed Ludwig, representing American Legion Post 80 presented this year's American Legion Awards to John Bakken and Margaret Sisul.

The Herrick Promotion Ceremony took place at 7 p.m. The promotion opened with the Pledge of Allegiance and the “Address to the Class of 2022” by Student Council Representatives Katherine Toledano Vazquez and Zain Haque. 

Social Studies Teacher Jay Swanstrom presented this year's American Legion Awards to Nicholas Derbis and Finley Werner. Assistant Principal Samantha Inglima presented the Barb Blumenschein Awards to Logan Beebe, Ava Kuether, Ady Fanta, and Bridget Rifenburg. This special award is named in honor of former beloved Herrick teacher Barb Blumenschein, who passed away in 2005.

Congratulations, District 58 eighth graders, and best of luck in high school and beyond!