View our “About District 58” fact sheet to learn more about District 58!

View a welcome video from Superintendent Dr. Kevin Russell.

The mission of District 58, in partnership with parents and community, is to challenge and engage each child by providing quality educational programs and support services in safe, nurturing, and child-centered environments in order to prepare all students to be lifelong learners and contributing members of a global society.

District Office

(Central School District Office)

2300 Warrenville Road
Suite 200NE
Downers Grove, IL 60515

District Service Center

(Technology and Maintenance Hub)

1860 63rd St.
Downers Grove, IL 60516

View District 58 contact information.

District History

According to board minutes, District 2 became District 58 on April 19, 1902; a separate high school district, District 99, was formed in 1923. District 58’s “newest” schools, Belle Aire and El Sierra, were constructed and opened in 1969. District 58 serves approximately 4,900 preschool through eighth grade students from Downers Grove and portions of Darien, Lisle, Lombard, Oak Brook, Westmont and Woodridge in its 11 elementary and two middle schools.

Teachers and staff

Approximately 637 full and part-time employees
Pupil-to-teacher ratio: 17 to 1 (Source: 2022 Illinois Report Card)
Percentage of teachers with master’s degrees and above: 63 percent
Average years teaching experience: 10 years


FY2022 annual budget: $87.5 million

Revenue sources (Source: 2023 Disrict 58 budet prior to audit adjustment):

  • Local: 88 percent
  • State: 9 percent
  • Federal: 3 percent

Belle Aire School

Principal: Brent Borchelt

3935 Belle Aire Lane  

Phone: 630-719-5820 

El Sierra School

Principal: Jason Lynde

6835 Fairmount Avenue  

Phone: 630-719-5825  

Fairmount School

Principal: Lisa Niforatos

6036 Blodgett Avenue

Phone: 630-719-5830


Henry Puffer School

Principal: Mark Leipart

2220 Haddow Avenue

Phone: 630-968-0294 

Herrick Middle School

Principal: Dr. David Norman

4435 Middaugh Avenue 

Phone: 630-719-5810

Highland School

Principal: Zachary Craft

3935 Highland Avenue

Phone: 630-719-5835


Hillcrest School

Principal: Michelle Rzpeka

1435 Jefferson Avenue

Phone: 630-719-5840

Indian Trail School

Principal: Tracey Ratner

6235 Stonewall Avenue

Phone: 630-719-5845

Kingsley School

Principal: Charles Brewster

6509 Powell Street

Phone: 630-719-5850


Lester School

Principal: Katie Novosel

236 Indianapolis Avenue

Phone: 630-719-5855

O’Neill Middle School

Principal: Lauryn Humphris

635 59th Street 

Phone: 630-719-5815

Pierce Downer School

Principal: Leland Wagner

1436 Grant Street

Phone: 630-719 -5860


Whittier School

Principal: Michael Krugman

536 Hill Street

Phone: 630-719-5865

Grove Children's Preschool

Coordinator: Susan Dillon

Located at Henry Puffer and
Indian Trail schools

Phone: 630-968-0454


Board of Education

District 58 is governed by a board of seven members elected by the community to serve four-year terms. The board is responsible for adopting and monitoring the school district budget; developing and approving district policies; and hiring the district superintendent. The public is encouraged to attend board meetings, which are typically held at 7 p.m. on the second Monday of each month at the Downers Grove Village Hall, 801 Burlington Ave. Board meetings, agendas, minutes and Board Briefs of past meetings are available at www.dg58.org.

Vision Statement

We Envision   a school district that inspires children, sparks creative and innovative thinking, celebrates diversity, and builds visionaries.

We Seek   an education that excites minds, touches spirits, challenges abilities, and prepares our children for life.  

We Believe   every child should be expected to grow, stretch, evolve and embrace the challenges of the future in a global environment.