DISTRICT 58 LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE Minutes of September 26, 2018

The Legislative Committee met on Wednesday, September 26, 2018 at 3:45 p.m. at the Administrative Service Center.

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 3:49 p.m.

<u>Present</u>

Kirat Doshi, Chair; Elizabeth Sigale, Board Member; Dan Gilbert, Emily Hanlon, Katie Hannigan, Megan Hewitt, Geoff Neustadt, Lisa Niforatos, Bill Riban, Michelle Rzepka and Bruce Swanson.

<u>Absent</u>

Jim Cagle, Gwendolyn Box, Kathy Catalani, Kari Cremascoli, Laura Duffy, Mike Ghawaly, Doug Purcell and Jason Suchy.

Approval of Minutes

Elizabeth Sigale moved and Megan Hewitt seconded the motion to approve the minutes from the September 26, 2018 meeting. Motion carried.

IASB Resolutions Committee Report

The Committee discussed its positions regarding the Illinois Association of School Boards (IASB) 2018 Resolutions Committee Report. These resolutions will be voted on by the IASB membership at the Triple I Conference on November 17, 2018. Kirat Doshi is the District 58 delegate, with Elizabeth Sigale as alternate.

NEW RESOLUTIONS:

Board Operations & Duties:

- 1. Student Safety & Protection Support
- 2. Student Safety & Protection Oppose
- 3. Student Safety Support

Financing Public Education – Other:

4. Energy Savings Funding & Borrowing – Support

REAFFIRMATION OF EXISTING POSITIONS:

<u>Financing Public Education – State:</u>

5. Position Statement 2.27 Charter School Funding - Support

NEW BELIEF STATEMENT:

6. Local Authority in Safety Practices – Support

AMENDED BELIEF STATEMENTS:

7. Belief Statement 5 – Mental Health Services – Support

September 26, 2018

Legislative Committee Minutes

8. Belief Statement 2 – Student Voter Registration - Support

Legislative Update

Elizabeth Sigale will ensure the committee receives frequent legislative updates.

PTA Communications None

IEA, NEA Concerns None

Other Concerns

The Committee discussed revision of its meeting schedule from the fourth Wednesday of the month to the third Wednesday of the month at 3:45 p.m.

Reception of Visitors

None

<u>Adjournment</u>

Bruce Swanson moved and Michelle Rzepka seconded the motion to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried

The meeting was adjourned at 5:07 p.m.